KUALA LUMPUR (Dec 23): Putrajaya MRT Line Phase 2 will be fully operational from March 2023, as the construction of the line has been completed.

Mass Rapid Transit Corp Sdn Bhd (MRT Corp) in a statement on Friday (Dec 23) said that the construction of the line from the Kampung Batu station to Putrajaya Sentral is in the operational readiness phase.

The 38.7km-long section of the Phase 2 alignment consists of 15 elevated stations and nine underground stations.

On June 16, the 17.5km-long Putrajaya Line Phase 1 alignment, which features 11 elevated stations from Kwasa Damansara to Kampung Batu, began serving the public.

“A total of 36 stations will serve the 56.2km-long Putrajaya Line when it is fully operational. Passengers will be able to transfer to other existing rail lines at 10 different interchange stations, providing convenience and seamless transfer to their preferred destinations,” MRT Corp said.

The interchange stations are Kwasa Damansara (with Kajang MRT Line), Sungai Buloh (with KTM), Sri Damansara Timur (with KTM), Kampung Batu (with KTM), Titiwangsa (with Ampang & Sri Petaling Light Rail Transit [LRT] Lines, KL Monorail), Ampang Park (with Kelana Jaya LRT Line), Tun Razak Exchange (with Kajang MRT Line), Chan Sow Lin (with Ampang & Sri Petaling LRT Lines), Sungai Besi (with Sri Petaling LRT Line) and Putrajaya Sentral (with Express Rail Link and KLIA Transit Lines).

The Putrajaya Line alignment will be served by 49 train sets. Each train set consists of four cars, with a maximum capacity of 1,200 passengers. The trains are fully automated and driverless.

The train operator added that passengers taking the MRT can benefit from the 5,870 parking bays available at 15 stations along the alignment.

The exact date for the commencement of Phase 2 operation will be announced once the approval process is finalised with the relevant authorities.

Source: EdgeProp, 23 December 2022.

You have already added 0 property


Forgot Password?